Index

I remember watching her sleep. I remember my right hand on her left thigh when we went places in the car. I remember all four of the pregnancies. I even reminisce about a fifth. I remember the way she’d say my name, the way she looked at me, the way she tugged at the rubber band to take her hair out of a faux ponytail. I remember the way she tasted. I love the way she tasted. I remember the way she sat in Indian style in the mirror to put on mascara. I remember how she wrote our last name. Made me think she really had no idea how to spell it. I remember when she said, “I do.” I remember when she couldn’t drive to save her’s or anybody else’s life. She was the worst. I remember when she thought it was so funny when I hit that line drive right back to the pitcher in college. I remember when she called me baby. I remember when she had no idea what to expect but she trusted me and knew I’d make it happen. I remember when she got arrested for sleeping in my car downtown. I remember how her lips felt on mine. I remember how creative she was. I remember how she would do anything for me. I remember her taco pie. I remember the first time I ever saw her cry. I remember the last time I heard her cry. I remember the day we moved to the beach.  I knew how much she loved it. That was the day I gave her the sunshine. I remember the way she loved chicken biscuits and cheese its. I remember the first time she ever shot a handgun. I remember everything. I wonder what he’ll remember..

Leave a Reply

